How to Delete a YouTube Video: 2 Ways to Delete and Edit Your Videos on YouTube

Photo by USA-Reiseblogger on Pixabay
SHARE

Aug 14, 2020 01:00 PM

If you are wondering how to delete a YouTube video, you've come to the right place. You may have reasons why you want to delete your YouTube videos, and you can easily do it by following the step by step tutorial on this page.

Learning on how to delete a YouTube video is a skill you should master nowadays, especially if you are planning to have a big YouTube channel. There will be a time when you find a mistake or error on your upload and you want to delete or replace it.

Now that technology has supported our lifestyle, it becomes easier to delete a YouTube video from anywhere and anytime. You can delete your video from your YouTube app or using a website. Now, scroll down to know more about the tutorials on how to delete a YouTube video.

How to Delete a Video on YouTube using the App

How to Delete a Youtube Video - Photo by freestocks.org from Pexels

There could be mistakes or errors that happen when you uploaded your video on YouTube. Or, that could be a time when you uploaded a video in the past and you don't like it anymore. There are actually many reasons you want to delete your video.

Luckily, youtube lets you easily delete them. If you have a YouTube app installed on your phone, you can follow these steps on how to delete a YouTube video:

Step 1. Firstly, you need to open the YouTube app and make sure you've logged into your account. Now, go to the Library that is located on the lower right corner of the app. This step can be done both from IOs and Android phones.

Step 2. Select the video from the options that pop up. You can also find it on My Videos.

Step 3. Now you will see a list of your video. Find a menu icon (three dots icon) on the right side of each video. Click on the icon and choose the Delete option. Choose Delete again to finally finish the step. Now your video is deleted!

How to Delete a Video from YouTube through Website

But, how to delete a YouTube video if you don't install the app on your phone? No worries because you can still delete any videos from your own Google Account.

Here are the steps on how to delete a YouTube video:

Step 1. Open your browser and go to the YouTube website. On the homepage, click on your profile icon located on the upper right corner of your screen. Now, click the Your Channel option.

Step 2. Now, you are getting redirected to your YouTube channel. Here, Find a blue YouTube Studio button that is located on the top-right corner of the page Click on the "Videos".

Step 3. Choose the video you want to delete. Click on the three dots menu icon on the corner of your video. Click on the icon and choose Delete Forever.

Step 4. Lastly, give a checkmark on the confirmation box in the dialog box. Then, click the Delete Forever button.

Can you replace a video from YouTube?

How to Delete a Youtube Video - Photo by Karolina Grabowska from Pexels

You can’t replace a video as newly uploaded on YouTube will get a different URL from other videos. But, you still can make some changes to the videos, here are the possible changes you can do for your video:

1. First, it's possible you can trim your video: You can cut out the beginning, middle, or end of your video.

2. You can add cards to your video: With cards, you can add new elements to your videos like titles, specific websites, and many more. 

3. You still can change your video's title and description even after it's uploaded: Make changes to your video's privacy settings, title, category, and description.

Can you delete a YouTube channel?

People often mix up between Youtube Channel and Youtube Account. Meanwhile, there is no such thing called YouTube Account, but a Google Account.

The account is made when you signed up for a Google account. Your Google account is like an umbrella account for your google channel.

So, you can delete a YouTube channel and still access youtube with your Google account. But, when you delete your Google account, you can't access Google services like Gmail and YouTube.

What happens after a video is deleted?

How to Delete a Youtube Video - Photo by Pixabay

Now that you've mastered how to delete a YouTube video, do you know what will happen after you delete it? Google will say that “it will no longer be searchable within YouTube.” when you search for it.

After you delete your video, it'll be removed from YouTube permanently. As soon the video is removed, you can't get it back. So, make sure that you are sure that you want to delete it.

If you upload the same video on your channel, the interactions like the comments and likes on the previous video will be gone completely. It's just a brand new video.

So, think twice before you delete your videos.

TAGS

Keep scroll to read next article